Privacy: How to achieve it when texting on your iPhone

Privacy, confidentiality, and integrity only come to one’s mind when either one or all of them has been breached. A breach may lead to unwanted info reaching unwanted eyes which at most times result in blackmail and even something more worse. Most of the privacy breaches are not as a result of an attack, but due to ‘negligence’ when it comes to protecting your info. Many might think by setting up the FaceID, TouchID or even a passcode then they have achieved the ultimate privacy. But there’s more to privacy, and for a start, we’ll start by restricting the contents of the Messages App to only you.

Don’t text from other iDevices

There’s a reason why smartphones are made to fit easily on one’s pocket or hand; to be with you all the time. Due to convenience issues, you may use some other iDevices especially iPads to make texting convenience and this is where you go wrong. Your colleagues might often borrow your iPad to watch YouTube and also do other productivity tasks and as well peeping on your messages. But you can disable texting on other iDevices from your iPhone. Open Settings, head to messages and check for devices listed for Text Message Forwarding and toggle off.

Do away with lock screen alerts

Lock screen alerts are meant to make our lives easy when using smartphones but not when you’re privacy-minded. After passcodes, you ought to disable alerts so that they can’t appear on the lock screen. You can also set to have lock screen alerts but with more privacy. That’s, you get the alerts but without the preview of the text message. To remove alerts from the lock screen, open Settings go to Notifications then head to Messages and toggle off Show on the lock screen. To allow alerts but disable the previews, don’t toggle off Show on the lock screen but only toggle off for show previews. After all the settings are set, your lock screen will just show the sender’s name without messages.

Delete old messages

Old messages may contain sensitive info that’s only meant for your eyes. To be on the safe side, the best practice is to delete evidence that might be linked to you. And to do this, you have to delete some messages after you have read them, but if you can’t keep up with the rate at which you receive the messages, you can set your device to delete them for you automatically. Go to Settings > Messages then to message history. You can then set a period in which messages rea to be deleted, i.e., after 30 days. Deleting messages will also save you some space.

Turn off read receipts

Not only do you want to avoid people reading your messages, but also you might want the person who is sending the messages not to know if you have read them. This is due to some reasons such as you might not be available at the moment to reply the message, or you even don’t want to be associated with the messages from that individual due to the sensitivity of their messages. To disable read receipts, go to Settings > Messages and then toggle off Send Read Receipts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *